Gondola Rides in Venice

DAY 14

On our way to Venice we will make a stop in Verona…where Juliet calls out to Romeo from her balcony in Shakespeare’s play…if you’re into that lovey dovey stuff.

After we make our way to the Venice region, we will stay the night in the beach town of Lido di Jesolo which is right outside Venice. Apparently this is where the local Venetians go to relax on the beach, eat great meals and enjoy the nightlife…um yes please. The next morning, we will venture into Venice to see the one-of-a-kind canals, gondolas, shops, eateries and gelato stops which are going to be heavily photographed by muahhh.

DAY 15

A local guide will start us off on foot through the narrow streets and open piazzas including the Grand Canal, the 324-foot Campanile bell tower and the St. Mark’s Square and Basilica. The Basilica was built in 832 AD and allegedly houses the saint’s remains. It is one of the most breathtaking examples of Italo-Byzantine architecture in Italy.

And finally…Free time! What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Gondola Rides in Venice

  1. Awww Venice! I really hope you and Cody enjoy the culture that Verona has to offer … It’s almost like a fairytale stop, but not quite the happy ending. I voted for the gondola ride because it really doesn’t get anymore romantic or authentic than that!

  2. When I was abroad, Italy was my favorite country (besides France)! I wish I could have spent more time there; there are so many cities in the country that are beautiful and interesting. I got to see Rome, Florence, and the Amalfi Coast, but never Venice, so I am really jealous!

  3. I really wanted to go to Venice when I was in Italy too! Like Sarah, I did not make it but my cousin is studying abroad there in the fall and am really hoping I will be able to visit her! I actually just read through your entire itinerary and it looks amazing!
    -Michelle

  4. Literally my one rule of thumb when traveling: Always go to the market. I love going to markets because there are normal people there, not just tourists. You can tell so much about a city in its market!

Leave a Reply

